portable arcade games
Portable arcade games and software for your flash drive and other portable devices

Portable Games and Emulators: Commodore 64

Emulators (programs that imitate other computer platforms) open up a whole new world of portable gaming for your flash drive. Games that I once thought I’d never be able to play again (like Aztec Challenge for the Commodore 64 which I tried to find for months on a PC platform) are all available and most are all small single files that are easy to carry around with you wherever your go! The emulators required to run them also usually require no installation.

I’ll be checking out several emulators for different platforms over the next few months with links to games for each of them. This week, we’ll start with my true love: The Commodore 64!!

I’ve tried a few C64 emulators but my favorite to date has to be VICE. One of my favorite features is that it allows you to define your keys for joystick control for both game ports 1 & 2 – very helpful when playing on a laptop in which the numeric keypad is impossible to play a game with! All you need to do is unzip the files and it’s ready to go.

Now for C64 games for your emulator: one of my favorite sites is: http://c64g.com/. This site has tons of games for various platforms as well as several emulators (including VICE). Everything is free!

Here are a few C64 games that I’ve really enjoyed in the past, to get you started (you can find them all and many more at http://c64g.com/.):

  • Aztec Challenge
  • GhostBusters!
  • JumpMan
  • Missile Command
  • PacMan
  • QBert
  • 1942
  • SpyHunter
  • Mario Brothers
  • Donkey Kong

Update August 23: Here’s another great source of Commodore 64 games for you: http://www.c64.com.

2 Responses to “Portable Games and Emulators: Commodore 64”

  1. I, like many others, started on a 64. I was in my late 20’s by the time I bought my machine. I quickly added a 1MB Expanded 1764 (Once I discovered GEOS) and a 1541/1581 set of drives. Although I did play some games (Tetris is my favorite) I mainly used the system for applications. Both GEOS and “Regular” software.

    Transferred all my stuff to a 486SX (With a home made X1541 cable that I was able to build thanks to my experience enhancing my C64!

    I have my 2GB flash drive just about “stuffed” with C64 Games, Software, and GEOS. I’m going to have to move it (COPY it) to my 4GB flash very soon!

    Regards,
    Joe Bucci
    (Collecting and preserving REAL software for the C64 for 15 YEARS!)

  2. Cool regarding the cable – didn’t know that could be done!

    I never got to try GEOS out at the time. For those who don’t know, GEOS was one of the first graphical operating systems. You can download GEOS for free here:
    http://cbmfiles.com/geos/index.html


Comments are closed.

