portable arcade games
Portable arcade games and software for your flash drive and other portable devices

Portable Games: An Easter Egg in OpenOffice

I’ve been using OpenOffice all this time and I just find out I had an integrated Space Invaders game inside of Calc! Who knew!?

Play the game by typing =Game(“StarWars”) into any cell. The game unfortunately is VERY slow! Maybe there are instructions to fix that but my German isn’t that advanced – the game notes are all in German. If you want to play a second game, you have to restart Calc – I guess that’s to encourage us not to spend all day playing games and get back to work.
There is also an unimpressive game of Tic-Tac-Toe. Enter =Game(A1:C3;”TicTacToe”) into cell A4. The game plays out in cells A1 to C3.

These two games are available in both the portable version and full version of OpenOffice.

All in all, I guess it’s fun to know about their existence and to impress your friends but that’s about it. OpenOffice is a great (terrific, wonderful, awesome, etc…) suite but I won’t be playing these two games unless I’m really desperate!

One Response to “Portable Games: An Easter Egg in OpenOffice”

  1. […] Portable Games: An Easter Egg in OpenOffice I’ve been using OpenOffice all this time and I just find out I had an integrated Space Invaders game inside Filed under Games by Sol Dowdal. Permalink • Print • Email […]


Comments are closed.

